Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Andrea A. Pappalardo, MD LAB

Community and School-Based Implementation Science Approaches to Health Equity in Asthma and Allergic Diseases Heading link

Andrea A. Pappalardo, MD is an Associate Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics in the Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep and Allergy at the University of Illinois at Chicago–UI Health. She received her BA from Washington University in St. Louis, her MD from University of Illinois at Chicago, completed a combined internal medicine and pediatrics residency at University of Chicago, and a fellowship in Allergy/Immunology at Rush University Medical Center and Cook County Hospital. She has been practicing clinical allergy immunology across the lifespan in a variety of settings including: urban, suburban and community practice for over ten years. She is the former Medical Director of the Mobile Care Chicago Asthma and Allergy Program, and the former Medical Director of CHECK, a care coordination program for Medicaid recipients in Illinois. Dr. Pappalardo is now shifting her career focus to improving healthcare access through implementation-science based healthcare innovation. Her research focuses on school and community-engaged implementation science-driven interventions to reduce health disparities in asthma and food allergy. She believes strongly in increasing sub-specialty access in vulnerable populations in allergic diseases and in promoting health equity throughout Illinois.


Selected Key Publications Heading link

Current Staff Current Students Former Trainees
Paige Hardy, MPH, Research Coordinator

Caroline Youssef, MD, MPH, Research Associate

Rachel Lane, MS, Biostatistician
Jennifer Cushman, MD

Krista Edenfield, RN, MPH Candidate

Danita Hingston, MPS, MPH Candidate

Alyssa Hsu, BS, MD Candidate

Ana Ongtengco, BS, MD Candidate

Oscar Tellez, BA, MPH Candidate

Emily Wilt, BS, MD Candidate
Caroline Alvarez, BS

Raktima Dasgupta, MPP

Michael Gonzalez, MD

Aastha Saggar, MPH

Jessie Wrona, MPH