Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Nephrology Fellows


Why UIC for Fellowship?

“Great place to learn.”

“Well-balanced program where the entire faculty is very approachable and maintains the collegial environment. “

“Excellent exposure to different patient population and pathophysiology. Fellows are exposed to the full range of renal diseases and gain proficiency in procedures (especially renal biopsies).”

“Plenty of opportunity to enhance your clinical knowledge in nephrology, improve procedural skills with biopsies, interpersonal skills with patients, professionalism, and practical experience.”

“Excellent learning environment. Breath of pathophysiology seen here is incomparable to other centers. Faculty is committed to teaching and there are plenty of opportunities for research.”

Former Fellows Heading link

Ahmed Abdou (2022), Private Practice, Chicago, Illinois

Tariq Alyamani (2022), Internal Medicine Residency, West Virginia

Kirolos Iskander (2022), UIC Transplant Nephrology Fellow, Chicago, Illinois

Claudia Rodriguez (2022), Private Practice, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Edward Suh (2022), Private Practice, Chicago, Illinois

Rizma Bajwa (2021), University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

Walaa Dabbas (2021), University of Illinois Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

Diana Kircheva (2021), Northwestern Lake Forest (Associates in Nephrology), Highland, IL

Anas Kizawi (2021), Midwest Nephrology Associates, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Sajid Ansari (2020), UIC Transplant Nephrology Fellow

Ragad Asmaro (2020), University of Michigan Kidney Consortium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Mustafa Kagawali (2020), Kidney Care Center, Joliet, Illinois

Rishi Kora (2020), Nephrology Specialist, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Lakshmi Pathak (2019), Fargo, North Dakota

Akika Ando (2019), Tokyo, Japan

Waala Dabbas (2019), UIC Transplant Nephrology Fellow

Bishan Chakravarty (2018), Amin Nephrology & Hypertension Specialist – Mercy Hospital St. Louis, Farmington, Missouri

Jelena Kovacevic (2018), Sinai Health System, Chicago, Illinois

Jonathan M. Silverman (2018), Nephrology Specialists, Porter Healthcare System, Portage, Indiana

Kunal Singh (2018), Bronson Battle Creek Hospital, Battle Creek, Michigan

Nikhil A. Parikh (2017), Prevea Health – St. Nicholas Hospital, Sheboygan, WI

Amatur Amarah (2017), John H. Stroger Jr., Hospital of Cook County, Chicago, Illinois

Imran A. Baloch (2017), University Hospital Midtown and Emory University Hospital, Fitchburg, WI

Manpreet Singh (2017), Franciscan Health, Indianapolis, Indiana

Mazen Diab (2016), Advocate Health Care, Oak Lawn, Illinois

Hemanth Hampole (2016), Memorial Hermann, Houston, Texas

Vishnu Vandana Palle (2016), Reading Hospital – Tower Health Medical Group, West Reading, Pennsylvania

Esteban Cedillo-Couvert (2015), South Texas Renal Care Group, San Antonio, Texas

Sarika Chopra (2015), Steward Health Care System, Brighton, Massachusetts

Asa Koganti (2015), Dallas Nephrology Associates, Fort Worth, Texas

Chijoke Onyenwenyi (2015), Southwest Nephrology Associates, Evergreen Park, Illinois

Ambarish M. Athavale (2014), John H. Stroger Jr., Hospital of Cook County, Chicago, Illinois

Swati Lederer (2014), UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas

Alice Ching (2014), Medical College of Wisconsin – Zablocki VA Medical Center, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Sharmila Parvathaneni (2014), Chandler Regional Medical Center, Kingman, Arizona

Ivan S. Begov (2013), Fox Valley Medical Associates, Aurora, Illinois

Revathi Belur (2013), Decatur Memorial Hospital, Decatur, Illinois

Mahvesh Mahmud (2013), Banner University Medical Center – Tucson Campus, Tucson, Arizona

Anca I. Zegrea (2013), Associates in Nephrology, Libertyville, Illinois