Application Info2018-10-18T10:21:54+00:00

MEDICAL STUDENT ELECTIVES

Application info

Student rotations, consistent with the Residency program, also are divided among four clinical sites.

VSLO, (formally known as VSAS) Applications open April 1, 2018

Find out if your university is a participating institution

VSLO

Frequently asked questions

DO students are welcome to apply for rotation and residency, however, we only accept USMLE Step 1 for our rotation and USMLE Step 1 and 2 CK for our residency. The COMPLEX Step 2 CS and COMPLEX Step 3 are acceptable and you are not required to take the USMLE equivalent exam.

This is a tough one to answer as each site is very different. Peruse our pages to learn more about the sites and pick the one that interests you the most. If you are not sure, please reach out to us for guidance.

No, absolutely not. Despite the Program Director being at the UIH site, each of our four sites has their own Education Director & Clerkship Director. Each of the four sites hold equal weight when it comes to interview and rank-list time. A common misconception is that you have to rotate at UIH to match, which is completely false.

Evaluation forms will be filled out for each shift you complete, and those will be used to fill out your overall SLOE. The letters will then be grouped from all the sites to determine your overall ranking among your peers. Therefore, being at one site over another will not affect how you are ranked.

Please click on the link “Rotation Prep” for information about your upcoming rotation. This includes prereadings for the medical student simulation sessions, videos for procedures, and other important resources.

No. Typically, most students that rotate are offered interviews, however, this is not the rule.

You will attend the weekly resident conferences on Thursday mornings from 7 am to noon. You will also attend one or two medical student education sessions that will entail simulation sessions and procedure training. The conference schedule is listed in the calendar on BrownCoatNation. The information for conference site location, room location, start time, and pre-readings can be found by clicking on the specific day.

If you are rotating at Masonic or Lutheran, you will have an opportunity to participate in the incoming trauma resuscitations as these are Level 1 trauma centers. If you are not at these sites during your rotation, you will receive tours of these departments.

Hospital sites

Explore the four hospital sites you can be placed in during your block. Each one offers a vast different look into the practice of Emergency Medicine.

Site Contact Information

University of Illinois at Chicago

Medical Student Director: Dr. Lisa Gehm  (lgehm@uic.edu)

Coordinator: Jennifer Ytem (jytem@uic.edu)

Phone: 312-413-4598

Mercy Hospital and Medical Center

Education Director: Dr. Deb Baines (dbaines@epmg.com)

Coordinator: Lisa Baxter (lbaxter@epmg.com)

Phone: 312-413-4598

Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center

Education Director: Dr. Elizabeth Byrnes (ezb3112@gmail.com)

Coordinator: Syreeta McFarland (syreeta.mcfarland@advocatehealth.com)

Phone: 312-413-4598

Advocate Lutheran General

Education Director: Terry Chiganos (terry.chiganos@advocatehealth.com)

Coordinator: Tara Murphy (tara.murphy@advocatehealth.com)

Phone: 312-413-4598