Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Photo of Mieler, William F

William F Mieler, MD, FACS, FARVO

Cless Family Professor

UIC Distinguished Professor of Ophthalmology
Vice-Chair for Faculty Affairs
Director, Ocular Oncology Clinic
Co-Director, Vitreoretinal Fellowship Program

Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Related Sites:


Dr. Mieler is an expert in treating diseases of the macula, retina and vitreous. His primary research interests are ocular pharmacology, exploring drug delivery to the posterior segment of the eye, uptake and potential toxicity of topical, periocular and systemic medications, intraocular tumors and response to therapy and ocular imaging. He also participates in numerous national clinical trials for the treatment of age-related macular degeneration, diabetic macular edema, venous occlusive diseases and vitreoretinal interface disorders. Dr. Mieler received the Life Achievement Honor Award from the American Board of Ophthalmology (AAO) and served as its director, vice-chair and chair. He is a past president of the Macula
Society, which awarded the 2013 J. Donald Gass Medal to him for his outstanding contributions to the study of macular diseases. He has published 330 peer-reviewed articles, 70 book chapters and edited or co-edited six ophthalmic textbooks. He has delivered 19 named lectures, served on editorial boards for three ophthalmic journals and is a reviewer for 22 additional journals. He is Retina Section Trustee and President-Elect of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). Dr. Mieler also served on several committees of the American Board of Medical Specialties. He joined the Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary in 2008. Dr. Mieler is board certified in ophthalmology.

Selected Publications

See a representative list of Dr. Mieler’s published journal articles in PubMed.

Notable Honors

2012, 2013, Chicago Super Doctors, Chicago Super Doctors

2011, Life Achievement Honor Award, American Academy of Ophthalmology

2011, Lifelong Education for the Ophthalmologist Continuing Education Recognition Award, American Academy of Ophthalmology

2001, Senior Achievement Award, American Academy of Ophthalmology

1992, Achievement Award, American Academy of Ophthalmology

2011, Founders Award, American Society of Retina Specialists

2005, Crystal Apple Award, American Society of Retina Specialists


MD: University of Wisconsin-Madison Medical School
Residency in Ophthalmology: Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami
Clinical Fellowship in Retina-Vitreous: The Eye Institute, Medical College of Wisconsin
Clinical Fellowship in Ocular Oncology: Wills Eye Hospital, Thomas Jefferson University