About UIPG

The University of Illinois Physicians Group (UIPG), also known as the Medical Service Plan (MSP), is responsible for the medical school’s clinical practice activities.

The Physician Group Practice (UIPG) is governed by a Board of Directors and has the following standing committees:

  1. MSP Executive Committee*
  2. Compliance
  3. Managed Care
  4. Malpractice
  5. Business Development
  6. Strategic Planning

The membership of the MSP committees consists of clinical department heads and faculty-at-large representatives.


Operation of the UI Physicians Group is also governed by a set of bylaws. The existing bylaws were last revised in 2007; a copy of them can be found here.

For the last several months, a small group has been working on revisions to these bylaws. Their proposed revisions have been reviewed with and endorsed by the MSP Executive Committee and the full MSP Board of Directors. The next step in the review process is to present the revised bylaws to the full membership of the Medical Service Plan. If endorsed by the MSP membership, the final step is for presentation to the University of Illinois Board of Trustees.

In the meantime, the following materials are available for your review:

  • A two-page summary of the revisions can be found here
  • A “redlined” version of the bylaws, showing revisions from the prior version can be found here
  • A “clean” version of the proposed, revised bylaws can be found here

*The Executive committee consists of 6 members who are appointed by the Dean of the College of Medicine.