There are four recognized subspecialties in the field of Obstetrics/Gynecology:

      • Gynecologic Oncology
      • Maternal Fetal Medicine
      • Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility
      • Urogynecology/Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery

Each subspecialty has its own certification exams administered by ABOG, and physicians can become certified in one or more of them. Certification is valid provided the primary certification in obstetrics and gynecology is up-to-date.

Gynecologic Oncology

Concerned with consultation and comprehensive management of patients with gynecologic cancer

Requires knowledge of major cancer treatments, diagnosis, and complications of oncology

Maternal/Fetal Medicine

Concerned with the care and consultation of patients with complications of pregnancy 

Requires knowledge of obstetrics, medical and surgical complications of mother and fetus, current approaches to diagnosis and treatment, and newborn adaptation 

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

Concerned with the management of complex problems relating to reproductive endocrinology and infertility 

Requires knowledge of diagnosis and treatment of endocrinology and infertility disorders 

Urogynecology/Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery

Concerned with the health of the female urinary tract and surgery as a treatment

Requires knowledge of complex benign pelvic conditions, lower urinary tract disorders, pelvic floor dysfunction, and reconstructive pelvic surgery