Events

The MSTP hosts a variety of academic events throughout the year.  Many of these events are open to UIC Faculty and the general student body.  MSTP events include:  Lunch Seminars, a monthly Dinner Seminar, a series of student Grand Rounds, workshops and trainings, journal clubs, cohort meetings,  MSTP Alumni events, Director’s breakfast and student Thesis Defense seminars.

In addition to these events the students coordinate and host social events throughout the year for the entire MSTP.

Annual Events include:  

Graduation Banquet- a banquet is held each the night prior to COM graduation to honor and celebrate MSTP graduates.  An alumnus of the MSTP returns each year to give the keynote address.  Attendees include MSTP faculty, students and staff, as well as graduating students’ families and PhD mentor.

Retreat- Between June and August, the entire MSTP travels to an off-site resort for a retreat which features student presentations (oral and poster),  a seminar with a  keynote faculty speaker,  interactive break-out sessions, as well as recreation and relaxation. Each November,

COM Research Forum – MSTP students participate in the annual all-COM Student Research Forum  where they are able to present on their current research.  to which they append their own Research Symposium featuring talks by several of the advanced students.

Events will be listed below as they are scheduled for the 2018-2019 academic year.

MSTP Student Thesis Defense (Laura Hardy)

Monday, February 25, 2019
9:00am – 11:00am
MBRB Auditorium

MSTP Grand Rounds
Mike, Laura and Ally

Thursday, February 28, 2019
12:00pm – 1:00pm
GEMS Library 317

MSTP Student Thesis Defense (Alex Ticho)

Friday, March, 1 2019
10:00am – 12:00pm
Moss Auditorium – COMRB 1020

Inter MSTP Event

Friday, March 1, 2019
7:00pm – 9:00pm
Whirlyball – Chicago

MSTP Breakfast with Directors – Dr. Jan Kitajewski

Monday , March 4, 2019
9:00am – 10:00am
GEMS Library 317

MSTP Student Thesis Defense (Ben Turturice)

Tuesday, March 5, 2019
10:00am – 12:00pm
COMRB 7175

MSTP Lunch Seminar (Pharmacology Department Overview)

Wednesday, March 6, 2019
12:00pm – 2:00pm
COMRB 4175

MSTP Student Thesis Defense (Chris Manzella)

Friday, March 8, 2019
3:00pm – 5:00pm
COMRB 7175

MSTP Student Thesis Defense (Alex Agelidis)

Tuesday, March 12, 2019
12:00pm – 2:00pm
COMRB 4175

MSTP Student Thesis Defense (Adam Schafer)

Wednesday, March 13, 2019
1:00pm – 3:00pm
Moss Auditorium – COMRB 1020

MSTP Student Thesis Defense (Matt Durst)

Thursday, March 14, 2019
10:00am – 12:00pm
MBRB Auditorium – Room 1017

MATCH DAY!

Friday, March 15, 2019

MSTP Lunch Seminar (Gus Cho)

Wednesday, March 20, 2019
12:30pm – 1:30pm
GEMS Classroom 303

MSTP 2nd Look Visit

Thursday, March 21, 2019 – Friday, March 22, 2019

MSTP Coffee with Directors (Dr. Dawood Darbar)

Wednesday, April 3, 2019
8:30am –  9:30am
GEMS Classroom 303

MSTP Grand Rounds (Uzoagu, Alex, Chris)

Monday, April 22, 2019
12:00pm-1:00pm
GEMS Classroom 303

MSTP Student Thesis Defense (Ally Young)

Wednesday, April 24, 2019
11:00am – 1:00pm
MBRB Auditorium (1st Floor)