Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.


The Department of Anatomy & Cell Biology has two annual awards: The George H. Miller Memorial Fund brings distinguished lecturers to the campus, while the Dr. Harry and Mildred R. Monsen Award for Excellence supports graduate students in the department.

The George H. Miller Memorial Fund Heading link

George Miller

George Miller began his employment at the Medical Center campus in 1921 in the Department of Anatomy. He retired in 1969 as a pathology technologist, having served the University for forty-eight years.

Mr. Miller was known to almost every medical student during that time and was held in high respect by all. Upon is death in August, 1972 he bequeathed this entire estate to the University of Illinois.

Over the years, funds from this generous gift have been used by the Anatomy Department to support graduate students in their research and travel, as well as instituting a George H. Miller Distinguished Lecturer in Anatomy series in 1981. Over the ensuing years, many distinguished lecturers have been brought to the campus through Mr. Miller’s original gift.


  • 2019 Miriam Goodman, PhD
  • 2018 Berislav Zlokovic, MD, PhD
  • 2013 Arthur Horwich, MD
  • 2005 Rodolfo Llinas, MD, PhD
  • 2005 Bertil Hille, PhD
  • 2001 Roderick MacKinnon, MD

Dr. Harry and Mildred R. Monsen Award for Excellence Fund Heading link

Harry Monsen, Ph.D. was a 40-year (1953-1993) faculty member at the University Of Illinois College Of Medicine where he was a long-time director of the Gross Anatomy Program in the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology.

Dr. Monsen was a frequent contributor to several anatomic atlases and charts during his long teaching career. He was a six-time winner of the Raymond B. Allen Award for excellence in teaching and in 1991 won the Distinguished Service Award from the school’s Department of Surgery. The Dr. Harry and Mildred R. Monsen Award for Excellence was established in 2013 by Mildred Monsen to recognize and award a graduate student who has distinguished himself or herself academically, in his or her research, and in service to the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology in the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago. The annual award will provide $2,500 to support the recipient’s research and/or allow the recipient to attend a scientific course or conference.


  • 2019 – Kevin Koster
  • 2017 – Minsu Kang
  • 2016 – Michael Marshall
  • 2014 – Jacqueline Bonds
  • 2013 – Katarzyna Pituch