Almudena Veiga-Lopez, DVM, PhD

Associate Professor

Natalia M. Pascuali, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Zinat Sharmin, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Newsletter Editor, Postdoctoral Association, University of Illinois at Chicago

Anita Waye

GEMS Graduate Student

Sarrah Moosabhoy

Undergraduate student

Graduate Student Leadership Committee (communications subcommittee), Society of Toxicology

Student Executive Committee Member, Michigan Research Council, Society of Toxicology

Former Lab Members

Dr. Elvis Ticiani – Postdoctoral Fellow (2019-2023)


  • 2023 Sheldon D. Murphy Postdoctoral Endowment Award, Mechanisms Specialty Section, Society of Toxicology
  • 2023 Midwest Regional Chapter Postdoctoral Travel Award, Society of Toxicology.
  • 2023 Postdoctoral Travel Award, College of Medicine, UIC
  • 2020 & 2021 Finalist, Mechanisms SS Gabriel L. Plaa Education Award, Society of Toxicology.


  • Postdoctoral Representative, Out Toxicologists and Allies Society of Toxicology

Current Position: Study Director of Toxicology, Frontage Labs

Dr. Yong Pu – Assistant Research Professor (2021-2023); Postdoctoral Fellow (2006-2020)


  • 2020 Second Price, AACT and InnoStar Best Abstract Awards, Society of Toxicology.
  • 2018 Poster Award, Michigan Society of Toxicology

Current Position: Study Director of Toxicology, Frontage Labs

Dr. Jeremy Gingrich, Graduate Student, Pharmacology and Toxicology Program, Michigan State University (2017 – 2020)


  • 2020 Travel Award, Society of Toxicology
  • 2019 Food Safety Specialty Section Frank Lu Graduate Student of the Year Award, Society of Toxicology
  • 2019 Best Poster Award, Annual Research Day, Reproductive Sciences & Developmental Program, MSU
  • 2018-2019 T32 NICHD Fellowship
  • 2018 Travel Award, Future Tox IV Annual Meeting

Current position: Toxicologist, Office of Food Additive Safety, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, Food Drug Administration