Student Affairs Office


Mission Statement for the Chicago Office of Student Affairs of the University of Illinois College of Medicine

The Office of Student Affairs is dedicated to the academic success and holistic development of our students. We

  • provide informed, compassionate advising centered on the needs and goals of students and their future patients;
  • promote career exploration and support career selection;
  • plan and celebrate the milestones on our students’ journey toward physicianship.

We welcome and embrace our diverse student body, respecting every student as a unique individual and emerging medical professional.


Students will be engaged in their education, equipped with the tools for success as physicians, and empowered to advocate for themselves and their patients.

We remain available to the entire student body should they have any questions or concerns. Feel free to stop by our office located at:

1853 West Polk Street, 112 CMW
Chicago, Illinois 60612
Phone: (312) 996-2450

Please follow the link to view the The College of Medicine Medical Student Guide

Student Achievements

Dr. C. M. Craig Fellows for Summer Research 2016:

The Craig Fellowship is designed to enable first year medical students the ability to conduct research under the guidance of a UI COM faculty member. The Craig Fellowship is a highly competitieve summer program. Please join us in congratulating this year’s selected fellows.

Congratulations to the 2016 Craig Fellowship winners!

Student NamePerforming research in:Comments
Ansong, EmmanuelMedicine/Hematology/Oncology
Bhat, PradhanGastroenterology and Hepatology
Bhimani, AbhirajNeurosurgery
Burhani, MansoorPhysiology & BiophysicsFerguson/Craig Fellow
Carroll, TimothyGastroenterology and Hepatology
Cedermaz, JonathanEmergency medicine
Darwish, DanaMedicineIM-Craig Fellow
Goh, VivienMedicine/Nephrology
Hsu, MichaelAnatomy and Cell Biology
Ledezma, KarinaMedicine/CardiologyIM-Craig Fellow
Macrinici, VictorDermatology
Michael, RamanOpthamology & Visual Services
O’Neil, ChristopherOpthamology & Visual Services
Patel, RonakMinimally Invasive Surgery
Patel, TakshakaNephrology
Rafidi, RobertPsychiatry
Shi, KevinSurgery
Stelman, ClaraAnesthesiologyFAER/Craig Fellow
Wang, ErikSurgery
Wondmagegn, AdmasPhysiology
Yost, GardnerBioengineering

For previous listings, see the Craig Fellowship History page

Gold Humanism Honor Society

The mission of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) is to recognize individuals who practice humanistic patient care and who can serve as role models, mentors, and leaders in medicine. The power of the Society lies in bringing together like-minded individuals to sustain their own humanism and to inspire and nurture humanism in others. Membership in GHHS goes beyond selection and induction into an honor society; its members have demonstrated compassion, empathy and humanism in their prior work and have a responsibility to model, support, and advocate
for compassionate, patient-centered care throughout their careers.

As Co-Chairs of the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago GHHS Chapter,
we are delighted to announce the Class of 2020 GHHS inductees listed below. Congratulations!

Co-Chair – Sean M. Blitzstein, MD
Director, Psychiatry Clerkship
Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry University of Illinois at Chicago

Co-Chair- Memoona Hasnain, MD, MHPE, PhD
Professor and Interim Head
Department of Family Medicine
University of Illinois at Chicago
College of Medicine

Class of 2020

Neharika Akkoor
Faisal Akram
Samara Albazzaz
Adrian Boscolo-Hightower
Daniel Cubberly
Hanan Curtice
Rosa De la Torre
Lucero Diaz
Andrew Florin
Sarah Garvey
Jennifer Grage
Danielle Hyatt
Ereni Katsaggelos
Inae Jang
Harsha Jujjavarapu
Lawal Labaran
Molly Macines
Joan Marc
Hansika Narayanan
Esmeralda Rosales
Sarah Russel
Ravand Samaeekia
Meghan Schmitt
Zainab Shirazi
Geraldine Shirzai
Joshua Smith
Melissa Socarras
Jessica Strzepka
Justin Temple
Stephanie Turcios
Michelle Vu

Christy Williams

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation champions the human connection in healthcare. We engage schools and their students, health systems, companies, and individual clinicians in the joy and meaning of humanistic healthcare, so that patients and their families can be partners in collaborative, compassionate and scientifically excellent care.

GHHS – For more information about the Gold Foundation please visit their website

For previous listings, see our Membership History

Alpha Omega Alpha

AOA Induction Ceremony 2018-2019: Information Coming Soon

For a list of Junior members for class of 2018-2019, please visit our member page on the AOA website.

AOA Induction Ceremony 2018-2019

DATE: May 9, 2019

TIME: 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm

LOCATION: Faculty Alumni Lounge


Melvin Lopata, MD
Professor of Medicine
Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep and Allergy, Department of Medicine

Jessica Hanks, MD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine
Department Internal Medicine – Peoria Campus

It is a pleasure to announce the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society members:

Junior Class of 2019

Constantino, Krishna
Ganz, Eleanor
Goh, Vivien
Hooper, Matthew
Kowalski, Eric
Monick, Sarah
Oneil, Christopher
Papastefan, Steven
Plumb, Arden
Ross, Jason
Tan, Isaiah
Wilson, John

Senior Class of 2019

Baker ,Hayden
Barnes, Katherine
Bosco, Gianna
Brutzkus, Joseph
Burhani, Mansoor
Chaudhry ,Hamza
Cola, Talia
Dietrich, Michael
Donaldson, Andrew
Du Breuil, Christina
Hajnas, Natalia
Holmes, David
Kennedy, Deanne
Ma, Nicholas
Mesa, Dante
Park, Benjamin
Patel, Priyanka
Rousslang, Lee
Stelman, Clara
Stumbras, Katrina
Wonais, Matt
Wondmagegn, Admasu
Yost, Gardner

Alpha Omega Alpha is organized for educational purposes exclusively and not for profit, and its aims shall be the promotion of scholarship and research in medical schools, the encouragement of a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and graduates, and the recognition of high attainment in medical science, practice, and related fields. For more information about AOA please visit the web site