First Year Residents (Class of 2023)

Katherine Chen, MD, MS

Undergraduate— University of California-Berkeley
MD—University of California-Irvine College of Medicine
PGY1—Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

Charles Frank, MD

Undergraduate—University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
MD—University of Michigan Medical School
PGY1—St. Mary Mercy Hospital, Livonia, Michigan

Katherine Lucarelli, MD

Undergraduate—University of Wisconsin-Madison
MD—University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Medicine
PGY1—Resurrection Medical Center

Mathew Margolis, MD

Undergraduate—University of California-Los Angeles
MD— Washington University- St. Louis
PGY1—West Suburban Hospital

Mohammad Sabbagh, MD

UndergraduateUniversity of Michigan- Flint
—University of Michigan Medical School
PGY1—University of Michigan

Sudarshan Srivatsan, MD

Undergraduate—Northwestern University
MD— University of Michigan Medical School
PGY1—Resurrection Medical Center

Second Year Residents (Class of 2022)

Andrea Arteaga Useche, MD

MD—Universidad Central de Venezuele – Escuela “Luis Razetti”
Research & Clinical Fellowship in Cornea and Ocular Surface: Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary
PGY1—Illinois Masonic Medical Center

Ricky Cui, MD

BA—Bowdoin College
MD—Mayo Medical School
PGY1—West Suburban Medical Center

Shawn Gulati, MD, MPH

BS—University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MD/MPH—Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
PGY1—Weiss Memorial Hospital

Kevin Heinze, MD

MD—University of Michigan Medical School
PGY1—St Mary Mercy Livonia Hospital

Yekaterina Joltikov, MD

MD—Sackler School of Medicine – New York
PGY1—Maimonides Medical Center

Aaron Kaufman, MD

BA—Boston University
MD—Boston University School of Medicine
PGY1—Boston University Medical Center

Third Year Residents (Class of 2021)

Samuel Burke, MD

BS—University of Pennsylvania
MD—University of Miami Medical School
PGY1—Saint Joseph Hospital

Emily Cole, MD, MPH

BS—Brown University
MD/MPH—Tufts University School of Medicine
PGY1—Lincoln Medical and Mental Health Center

Lawrence Geyman, MD

BA—Columbia University
MD—Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
PGY1—Mount Sinai Beth Israel

Rajvi Mehta, MD

BS—Brown University
MD—Duke University School of Medicine
PGY1—State University of New York

Nita Valikodath, MD

BS—Wayne State University
MD—University of Michigan Medical School
PGY1—The University of Chicago Medical Center

Ivy Zhu, MD

BS—Northwestern University
MD—University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine
PGY1—Kaiser Foundation Hospital, San Francisco



Marc Deeley, OD

BS—Ithaca College
OD—New England College of Optometry
Ocular Disease/Primary Care Optometry Residency—VA Maine Healthcare System
Taylor Starnes, MD, PhD

Taylor Starnes, MD, PhD

BS—University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
PhD—University of Wisconsin-Madison
MD—University of Wisconsin-Madison
PGY1—University of Chicago-NorthShore
Ophthalmology Residency—University of Illinois at Chicago

Sarah Sunshine, MD

BS—Brandeis University
MD—Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
PGY1—Medstar – Union Memorial and Good Samaritan Hospitals
Ophthalmology Residency—Northwestern University-Feinberg School of Medicine
Rebecca Sarran, MD

Rebecca Sarran, MD

BA—Washington University in St Louis
MD—Rush University
PGY1—Rush University Medical Center
Ophthalmology Residency—Rush University Medical Center
Dmitry Balian

Dmitry Balian, MD

MD—Vitebsk State Medical University, Vitebsk, Belarus
Internship, Ophthalmology—Vitebsk Regional Clinical Hospital, Vitebsk, Belarus
Chau Pham


Chau Pham, MD

BS—Emory University, Atlanta GA
MD—Case Western Reserve University SOM, Cleveland OH
PGY1—Metrohealth Hospital, Cleveland OH
Ophthalmology Residency—Washington University in St Louis, St Louis MO
Daniel Maidana

Daniel Maidana, MD

MD—University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Ophthalmology Residency—University of Barcelona, Spain
Matthew Byun, MD

Matthew Byun, MD

BS—The Ohio State University, Columbus OH
MD—Wright State University, Dayton OH
PGY1—Mount Carmel Health, Columbus OH
Ophthalmology Residency—University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati OH
Mike Heiferma

Mike Heiferman, MD

BA—Northwestern University
MD—Northwestern University
PGY1—University of Chicago-NorthShore
Ophthalmology Residency—Northwestern University

Nicole Scripsema, MD

BS—The University of Michigan
MD—New York Medical School
PGY1—Carney Hospital
Ophthalmology Residency—New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai, New York NY
Medical Retina and Uveitis Fellowship—Moorfields Eye Hospital
JD Wilgucki, MD

John Wilgucki, MD

BS—Lehigh University
MD—Rutgers University Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
PGY1—Crozer-Chester Medical Center
Ophthalmology Residency—Emory University School of Medicine
Monique Munro, MD

Monique Munro, MD

BS—University of Alberta
MD—University of Calgary
Ophthalmology Research Fellowship—University of Calgary
Ophthalmology Residency—University of Calgary