June 11, 2017

The Department’s annual graduation dinner celebration was on Saturday night, June 10th at The Montgomery Club of Chicago. Barb Jericho, MD won the Outstanding Teacher award, selected and presented by the residents, and Brad Biegler, MD won the prestigious Robert D. Dripps, MD Memorial Award as outstanding graduating resident, selected by the department’s faculty. Rohit Choudhary, MD received the department’s Walter Kowalski Achievement Award. The award recognizes outstanding young residents in the department. Four Teamwork Awards were handed out, recognizing a resident from each of the three clinical anesthesia training years: Katy Ovsevitz, MD and Jarna Shah, MD, were the CA-3 and CA-1 class recipients, respectively, while Jaudat Mahmood, MD and Cory Deburghgraeve, MDwere both winners of the CA-2 class award.
The evening concluded with gifts, testimonials, and presentations honoring our beloved program coordinator, Janine Daniel, who retires soon following a lifetime of residency coordinator program service, the last nine of which were in our department. During that time, she did literally everything for countless students, residents, fellows, and even faculty. She will forever be treasured by her ‘children’. Godspeed J.