William F. Mieler, MD, FARVO

William F Mieler, MD is the Cless Family Professor of Ophthalmology, in the Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC), Chicago, IL. He also serves as the Vice-Chairman of Faculty Affairs, Director of Vitreoretinal Surgical Fellowship Training, and Director of Ocular Oncology. Dr. Mieler received the UIC 2016 College of Medicine Faculty of the Year Award, and he also received the UIC 2021 Distinguished Professor Award. His specialty areas include diseases and surgery of the retina and vitreous, along with ocular oncology.

Dr. Mieler completed his residency at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, followed by a vitreoretinal fellowship at the Medical College of Wisconsin, and a second fellowship in Ocular Oncology at Wills Eye Hospital. He then initially joined the faculty at the Medical College of Wisconsin, where he became Professor of Ophthalmology (1992) and was awarded the Jack A. and Elaine D. Klieger Chair in Ophthalmology (1998). Dr. Mieler then joined the faculty at the Baylor College of Medicine, in Houston, TX, as Professor of Ophthalmology (1999-2004). He then accepted the position of Professor and Chairman, Department of Ophthalmology, at the University of Chicago (2004-08), prior to his current position at the University of Illinois at Chicago (2008-present). He served as Interim Chair at UIC (2014).

Dr. Mieler has authored or co-authored 380 peer-reviewed scientific papers, 130 book chapters, and 8 textbooks, including most recently The Retina Atlas, 2nd edition (2017), Macular Surgery (2020), and Clinical Cases in Medical Retina (2024). Additionally, a 3rd edition of The Retina Atlas is in the press, and is slated to be published in mid-2025. He has presented 30 named lectures.

Within the American Board of Ophthalmology (ABO), Dr Mieler served as a Board Director (1998-2005), Chairman of the Board (2005), as Associate Executive Director (2006), and as Emeritus Director (2006- present). Dr. Mieler is also the past President of the Macula Society (2003-04), and he received the Gass Medal (2013). He has served on the Executive Committees of the Retina Society and has been the Chair of the Fellow Grant Award Committee (2005-16). From the American Society of Retina Specialists (ASRS), he has received the Crystal Apple award (2005), the Founders Award (2011), and was recognized as a Leader and Legend by the organization (2024). He is a past member of the Pan-American Board of Directors (2001-08), and he has chaired the PAAO Foundation Grants Committee (2006-11). In the American Ophthalmological Society (AOS), he has served as a member of the Council (2018-23), the Chair of the Council (2022-23), and is incoming President of the AOS (2025-26).

Dr. Mieler has served on the ARVO Board of Trustees (2010-16), representing the Retina section, and was President of ARVO (2014-15), along with being a member of numerous committees. He received the Distinguished Service Award from ARVO (2016). He currently serves on the ARVO Foundation, where he Chairs the Finance Committee.

From the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO), Dr Mieler received the Honor Award (1992), the Lifelong Education for the Ophthalmologist Award (2000), the Senior Honor Award (2001), the Life Achievement Honor Award (2011), and the Secretariat Award (2016). He served on the Ophthalmic Knowledge Assessment Program (OKAP committee (1991-98), and as Chair of the committee (1994-98). He also has served as a member of the AAO Council (2001-08), the EyeNet Editorial Advisory Board (2003-07), and Chair of the Schepens Award (2007-10). Dr Mieler has also served the AAO as a Media Spokesman, as a member and chair of the CME Advisory Task Force, and as Associate Secretary for the AAO Subspecialty Day programs (2011-15). Most recently, he served on the AAO Board of Trustees (2017-20) and was a member of the Executive Committee on the Board of Trustees (2020).

Dr Mieler co-founded the Midwest Ocular Angiography Conference (MOAC) in 1989. The annual meeting brings together 50 to 60 retina specialists to discuss challenging mystery retina cases. The meeting is entering its 37th year in 2025. He also founded the Advanced Vitreoretinal Techniques and Technology (AVTT) symposium in 2000, which also includes a Vitreoretinal Fellows course for 2nd year fellows. He has been recognized as a Best Doctor in America for the past 30 years (1995-2025), as well as in Chicago over the past 20 years (2006-25).