College of Medicine Alumni Awards


Established in 1994, the Distinguished Alumnus Award is bestowed upon alumni who have made outstanding professional achievements and displayed exceptional service to the medical profession, the community, the college and/or the university.

Wayne Goldstein ’74, MD ’78,
Res ’83 Read Web Feature

Richard Nyako, MS '71, PhD '72, MD '76, Res '80

Jerome Hershman, MD ’57

David L. Satckett, '58, MD '60, Res '63
Stuart D. Wilson, '58, MD '60
Read Feature in Illinois Medicine

Leonard Berlin '57, MD '59, Res '63 (Radiology)
Read Feature in Illinois Medicine

Georges C. Benjamin, MD '78 (Internal Medicine)
James C. Pritchard '54, MD '58, Res '63 (Pathology)

John A. Degiovanni, MD '72 (Surgery)

Jack S. Remington '54, MD '56 (Internal Medicine)

Truman O. Anderson Jr. '50, MS '52, PhD '55, MD '60, Res '61 (Preventative Medicine– Microbiology)

Edward J. Hertko '52, MD '54 (Internal Medicine)

Robert W. Williams '56, MD '58 (Surgery)

Al L.Watne '50, MD '52, MS '56, Res '58 (Surgery)

Louis F. Scaramella, MD, Res '60 (Otolaryngology)

James A. McDermott, MD '63, Res '66 (Psychiatry)

Marilyn T. Miller '56, MD '59, Res '64, MS '66 (Ophthalmology)

G. William Arends, MD '40 (Family Practice )
Robert J. Jensik, MS '38, MD '39, Res '48 (Surgery)

Gloria Jackson Bacon, MD '62, PhD '84 (Family Practice)

Robert A. Fantus, MD '39 (Psychiatry)
Stuart S. Roberts '53, MD '55, MS '56 (Surgery)
Philip Thorek '28, MD '31 (Surgery)

Stanley G. Rousonelos '48, '50, MD '52 (Family Practice)

Alex S. Tulsky, MD '34 (Obstetrics & Gynecology)

2014 College of Medicine Awards

Pioneer in Medicine - Ervin G. Erdos, MD, Professor Emeritus

Distinguished Alumnus Award - Steven D. Averbuch, MD '79, Res '82 

Sweeney Spirit of Medicine - Doug and Margaret Colbeth 

College of Medicine Alumni Awards

At the University of Illinois College of Medicine we inspire medicine.
Our Distinguished Alumni Awards celebrate leaders, alumni and friends who have made important contributions to the College of Medicine and have advanced the field of academic medicine, medical research or clinical practice or through their character and accomplishments have given extraordinary service to patients, students, and communities, especially the underserved. Their ability to think critically and act decisively has enabled them to lead medicine in bold new directions. Dating to 1994, the awards recognize outstanding College of Medicine trained physicians, current and past faculty, and friends of the College of Medicine for outstanding achievement in the following five categories:

Pioneer in Medicine Award:
This award recognizes graduates (MS, MD, PhD, residents), current or former College of Medicine faculty members or residents who have made outstanding contributions or a significant impact to their profession or community. The recipient of this prestigious award is considered a cutting-edge scientist, not held to conventional boundaries, who transformed the landscape of patient care, biomedical science or education. This recognition may be awarded to an individual posthumously.

Innovator of Today:
This award recognizes a significant innovative contribution to medicine made by a graduate (MS, MD, PhD, residents) of the University of Illinois College of Medicine. The Award recognizes an alumna/us for an innovative idea or approach to patient care, research or medical education. The recipient of this award displays qualities of strong leadership and seeks to transform medicine by making an impact within the community they serve.

Emerging Innovator Award:
This award recognizes early-career medical achievements and contributions of University of Illinois College of Medicine graduates (MS, MD, PhD, residents) who received their degree within the past 15 years, tenure-track faculty members or enrolled COM students. This award recognizes professional achievement and leadership of individuals who strive to advance medicine through selfless dedication to any area of medical research, patient care or education.

Distinguished Alumnus Award:
Established in 1994, the Distinguished Alumnus Award is given in recognition of outstanding professional achievement and service to the medical profession, community, the College and/or the University. This award is presented annually to an alumnus of the College of Medicine (MD only) who has demonstrated excellence in leadership, professional growth, educational advancement or service.

Spirit of Medicine Award:
This award recognizes a community partner, an individual, corporation or organization, for their community service and collaboration with the College of Medicine. Persons or entities receiving this award have demonstrated initiative, leadership and involvement that either improves medical education, civic engagement and the overall health of communities.

Required Criteria
* Demonstrated outstanding contributions and exceptional service to the medical profession, the community, the College of Medicine and/or the University
* Nominations must be made by a College of Medicine alumni, faculty, staff or student
* The Pioneer in Medicine Award is the only award that can be awarded posthumously