Specialty Career Advisors 2017-07-13T10:27:25+00:00

Specialty Career Advisors

Specialty Career Advisors give you a glimpse into their specialty. They can provide information about the lifestyle, personal characteristics, the type of patient encounters, characteristics of physicians in the specialty, training/residency requirements, salary and issues facing professionals in the field. They can also be instrumental in assisting you with networking and giving you information about annual meetings, seminars, associations and professional resources.

Do some research on your specialty of interest to gather as much information as possible. Then begin to narrow down your options. Be sure to access the AAMC Careers in Medicine website www.aamc.org/cim/ for specialty information and look at AMA FREIDA on-line at www.ama-assn.org to gather information about the training program, the length of training, program size, work and education environment and compensation.

Once you have done your own investigation and you still have questions, arrange a meeting with one or more of the Specialty Career Advisors to provide you with additional information on the specialty you are considering.

Note:  Specialty Career Advisor list was provided by Student Affairs Office. If you have any questions about faculty or are unable to contact them please contact Stacey Walters deven@uic.edu

 

 ADVISOR’S NAME

 DEPARTMENT

 TITLE

 Email

Laurito, Charles

Anesthesiology

Professor of Anesthesiology and Anatomy & Cell Biology

sharps@uic.edu

Nishioka, Hokuto

Anesthesiology

Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology

hokuton@uic.edu

Gans, Christopher

Cardiology

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine

cpgans@uic.edu

Hyderi, Abbas

COM Administration/Family Medicine

Associate Dean for Curriculum/Associate Professor of Clinical Family Medicine

ahyder2@uic.edu

Hernandez, Claudia

Dermatology

Assistant Professor of Dermatology, Director of Dermatological and Clinical Studies

claudiah@uic.edu

Lin, Janet

Emergency Medicine

Fellowship Director

Tyo, Carissa

Emergency Medicine

Associate Professor, Residency Director-Combined EM/IM Program

ctyo1@uic.edu

Zautcke, John

Emergency Medicine

Associate Professor, Director – O’Hare Clinic

zaut@uic.edu

Thompson, Trevonne

Emergency Medicine and Medical Toxicology

Assistant Professor, Fellowship Director, Medical Toxicology

tthomps@uic.edu

Gehm, Lisa

Emergency Medicine/Nursing Services

Attending Emergency Physician/Director, Undergraduate Medical Education

lgehm@uic.edu

Perry, L. Amanda

Family Medicine/Geriatrics

Geriatrics Fellow

lperry74@uic.edu

Dykens, Jon Andrew

Family Medicine

Visiting Clinical Instructor of Family Medicine

jdykens@uic.edu

Figueroa, Evelyn

Family Medicine

Residency Program Director

efigue@uic.edu

Grief, Samuel

Family Medicine

Associate Professor of Clinical Family Medicine

sgrief@uic.edu

Hanjrah, Sagina

Family Medicine

Associate Professor of Clinical Family Medicine

hanjrah@uic.edu

Hickner, John

Family Medicine

Department Head and Professor of Family Medicine

hickner@uic.edu

Hobbs, Keia

Family Medicine

Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine

khobbs@uic.edu

Leifer, Ariel

Family Medicine

Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine

aleifer@uic.edu

Stringham, Richard

Family Medicine

Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine

rstring@uic.edu

Tiemstra, Jeffrey

Family Medicine

Professor of Clinical Family Medicine

jtiemstr@uic.edu

Wells, Christina

Family Medicine

Instructor of Clinical Family Medicine

cwells2@uic.edu

Peace, David

Hematology/Oncology

Professor of Medicine

dpeace@uic.edu

Biggers, Alana

Internal Medicine

Assistant Professor

abigger2@uic.edu

Chamberlin, William

Internal Medicine

Chief Compliance Officer

whchambe@uic.edu

Chi, Euna

Internal Medicine

Assistant Professor

echi3@uic.edu

Galanter, Bill

Internal Medicine

Assistant Professor

billg@uic.edu

Zar, Fred

Internal Medicine

Program Director, Internal Medicine, Vice Head, Educational Affairs

fazar@uic.edu

Caskey, Rachel

Internal Medicine/Pediatrics

Associate Professor/Program Director of Residency, Med/Peds

rcaskey@uic.edu

Jabine, Leslie

Internal Medicine/Pediatrics

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine/Pediatrics

ljabine@uic.edu

Smith, Sara

Internal Medicine/Pediatrics

Assistant Professor

sboblick@uic.edu

Rajagopal, Nimmi

Mile Square Health Center

Clinical Physician

nrajago@uic.edu

Brecklin, Carolyn

Nephrology

Assistant Professor of Medicine

csbreckl@uic.edu

Slavin, Konstantin

Neurological Surgery

Professor

kslavin@uic.edu

Muthukrishnan, Sriranjini

Neurology & Rehabilitation Medicine

Assistant Professor

smuthukr@uic.edu

Alexander, Tamika

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Assistant Professor

talexa1@uic.edu

Kirsch, Therese

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Assistant Professor of Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology

tlkk@uic.edu

Robinson, Nuriya

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Assistant Professor

nrobin22@uic.edu

Shepherd, Jessica

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Assistant Professor

jshepher@uic.edu

Switzer, Julia

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Assistant Professor

 jswitzer@uic.edu

Djalilian, Ali

Ophthalmology and Visual Science

Associate Professor

adjalili@uic.edu

Traish, Aisha

Ophthalmology and Visual Science

Assistant Professor (CT) of Ophthalmology

aishat@uic.edu

Abbasian, Javaneh

Pediatric Ophthalmology & Adult Strabismus Service

Assistant Professor of Opthalmology

javaneh@uic.edu

Goldberg, Benjamin

Orthopaedic Surgery

Assistant Professor

orthodoc@uic.edu

Thomas, J. Regan

Otolaryngology – H&NS

Mario D. Mansueto Professor and Department Head

thomasrj@uic.edu

Campbell-Lee, Sally

Pathology

Associate Professor, Director of Transfusion Medicine

scampbe@uic.edu

Lin, Amy

Pathology

Assistant Professor

alin@uic.edu

Park, C. Lucy

Pediatric Allergy, Immunology & Pulmonology

Associate Professor

tiger@uic.edu

Berman, James

Pediatric Gastroenterology

Clinical Assistant Professor

jberma@uic.edu

Hayani, Karen

Pediatric Infectious Diseases

Associate Professor and Division Chief

khayani@uic.edu

John, Eunice

Pediatric Nephrology

Professor and Division Chief

EJohn@uic.edu

Hupert, Jordan

Pediatrics

Assistant Professor

jhupert@uic.edu

Osta, Amanda

Pediatrics

Pediatrics Program Director

aosta1@uic.edu

Schmidt, Mary Lou

Pediatrics

Associate Professor

mls3@uic.edu

Blitzstein, Sean

Psychiatry – CS, Department of

Clinical Associate Professor & Clerkship Program Director, Psychiatry Clerkship

sblitz@uic.edu

Conrin, Sean

Psychiatry – CS, Department of

Assistant Professor

sconri2@uic.edu

Kelley, Kathleen

Psychiatry – CS, Department of

Associate Professor

kelley58@uic.edu

Nathan, Joshua

Psychiatry – CS, Department of

Assistant Professor

jnatha1@uic.edu

Fox, Geri

Psychiatry/Child & Adolescent Psychiatry

Professor

foxg@uic.edu

Lopata, Melvin

Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep and Allergy

Professor of Medicine

mlopata@uic.edu

Howard, Andrew

Radiation Oncology

Radiation Oncologist

ahoward9@uic.edu

Lin Xie, Karen

Radiology: Diagnostic

Radiologist

karenlin@uic.edu

Shamim, Ejaz

Radiology: Diagnostic

Radiologist

eshamim@uic.edu

Talwar, Parkarsh

Radiology: Diagnostic

Assistant Professor

ptalwar@uic.edu

Abdelhady, Khaled

Surgery: Cardiothoracic

Assistant Professor

khaled1@uic.edu

Massad, Malek

Surgery: Cardiothoracic

Professor

mmassad@uic.edu

Abcarian, Herand

Surgery: Colorectal

Professor

abcarian@uic.edu

Mellgren, Anders

Surgery: Colorectal

Professor

afmellgr@uic.edu

Nordenstam, Johan

Surgery: Colorectal

Assistant Professor

drjohan@uic.edu

Bianco, Francesco

Surgery: General Surgery

Assistant Professor

biancofm@uic.edu

Elli, Enrique

Surgery: General Surgery

Attending Physician

eelli@uic.edu

Gangemi, Antonio

Surgery: General Surgery

Visiting Assistant Professor

agangemi@uic.edu

Giulianotti, Pier

Surgery: General Surgery

Division Chief

piercg@uic.edu

Arensman, Robert

Surgery: Pediatric Surgery

Professor

rarensma@uic.edu

Chiu, Bill

Surgery: Pediatric Surgery

Visiting Assistant Professor

bchiumd@uic.edu

Kanard, Robert

Surgery: Pediatric Surgery

Visiting Assistant Professor

rckanard@uic.edu

Cohen, Mimis

Surgery: Plastic Surgery

Division Chief

mncohen@uic.edu

Morris, David

Surgery: Plastic Surgery

Assistant Professor

dmorris5@uic.edu

Patel, Pravin

Surgery: Plastic Surgery

Professor

pkpatel@uic.edu

Das Gupta, Tapas

Surgery: Surgical Oncology

Professor

tkdg@uic.edu

Maker, Ajay V.

Surgery: Surgical Oncology

Assistant Professor

amaker@uic.edu

Warso, Michael

Surgery: Surgical Oncology

Associate Professor and Division Chief

warso@uic.edu

Bartholomew, Amelia

Surgery: Translational Research

Associate Professor

ambart@uic.edu

Benedetti, Enrico

Surgery: Transplant Surgery

Professor and Head

enrico@uic.edu

Garcia-Roca, Raquel

Surgery: Transplant Surgery

Assistant Professor

garciarr@uic.edu

Jeon, Hoonbae

Surgery: Transplant Surgery

Professor

jeonhb@uic.edu

Oberholzer, Jose

Surgery: Transplant Surgery

Transplant Chief

jober@uic.edu

Tzvetanov, Ivo

Surgery: Transplant Surgery

Associate Professor

itzveta@uic.edu

Borhani, Martin

Surgery: Vascular Surgery

Division Chief

mborhani@uic.edu

Brown, Katherine E.

Surgery: Vascular Surgery

Assistant Professor

katherb@uic.edu

Merlotti, Gary

Surgery: Vascular Surgery

Co-Dir Residency Program

merlotti@uic.edu

Ziporin, Scott

Surgery: Vascular Surgery

Visiting Assistant Professor

ziporins@uic.edu

Altman, Igor

Surgery: Wound Care

Visiting Assistant Professor

ialtman@uic.edu

Ennis, William

Surgery: Wound Care

Section Director

wjennis@uic.edu

Plummer, Malgorzata

Surgery: Wound Care

Visiting Assistant Professor

malgorza@uic.edu

Niederberger, Craig

Urology

Head

ccorpu1@gmail.com