Pulmonary banner


FACULTY & STAFF


The Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep and Allergy has one of the largest faculties in the Department of Medicine. The clinical physicians include 19 pulmonary and critical care attendings, 2 allergist-internists, 1 neurologist-sleep specialist, and 1 internist-anesthesiologist. A pulmonary pathologist has a secondary appointment. The Chief of the Department of Medicine and Vice-President of Health Affairs are pulmonary and critical care physicians. There are more than 100 researchers in respiratory disease. 




 Steve Dudek     

Steven Dudek, MD
Division Chief, Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy
Associate Professor
sdudek@uic.edu   
      




   ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Administrative Staff
312-996-8039


Jean Fitzpatrick

Director, Administrative Operations
jeanfitz@uic.edu

Karen Gordon
Administrative Assistant
gordonk@uic.edu

Sue Hammerschmidt
Fellowship Coordinator
shammer@uic.edu

Alejandra Martinez
Associate Director of Business Operations
agonza27@uic.edu




  Fellowship Program Directors

 
 schrauf   James herdegen 

     
Dean E. Schraufnagel, MD
Professor of Medicine and Pathology
Program Director, Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellowship
schrauf@uic.edu
  James J. Herdegen, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
Director, Sleep Science Center    
jherdege@uic.edu
 
   
             
  Faculty
             
 Patrick Belvitch, MD    Berdyshev, Evgeny V., PhD   Kamesh Pic
 
 
Patrick Belvitch, MD
Instructor of Medicine
pbelvitc@uic.edu
  Evgeny V. Berdyshev, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
eberdysh@uic.edu
  Rama Kamesh Bikkavilli, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
kamesh@uic.edu
  Patricia W. Finn, MD
Professor and Head, Department of Medicine
pwfinn@uic.edu

             
 James herdegen    Jeffrey Jacobson, MD    Jaffe, MD    Min Joo, MD
 James J. Herdegen, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
Director, Sleep Science Center
jherdege@uic.edu
  Jeffrey Jacobson, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
jrjacob@uic.edu
  H. Ari Jaffe, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Pulmonary Division, Jesse Brown VA Medical Center
howard.jaffe@va.gov
  Min Joo, MD, MPH, FCCP
Associate Professor of Medicine
joo@uic.edu
             
 Kovitz, MD    Jerry Krishnan, MD, PhD    Irena Levitan, PhD    Melvin Lopata, MD
Kevin Kovitz, MD, MBA, FCCP, FACP
Professor of Medicine & Surgery     
Director, Center for Interventional Pulmonology & Advanced Thoracic Procedures
kkovitz@uic.edu
  Jerry A. Krishnan, MD, PhD 
Professor of Medicine and Public Health 
Associate Vice President for Population Health Sciences 
jakris@uic.edu
  Irena Levitan, PhD
Professor of Medicine
levitan@uic.edu
  Melvin Lopata, MD
Professor Emeritus of Medicine
mlopata@uic.edu
             
 Roberto Machado, MD            Ergün Önal, MD
Roberto Machado, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
machador@uic.edu
 

Viswanathan Natarajan, PhD
Professor of Medicine & Pharmacology

visnatar@uic.edu

  Sharmilee Nyenhuis, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
snyenhui@uic.edu
  Ergün Önal, MD
Professor of Medicine
eonal@uic.edu
             
 Gye Young Park, MD, MSc    Bharati Prasad, MD    Israel Rubinstein, MD    Dr. Rebecca A Shilling

Gye Young Park, MD, MSc

Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Director of the Pulmonary and Diagnostic Laboratory

parkgy@uic.edu

 

Bharati Prasad, MD, MS

Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Medical Director, MICU JBVAMC
Medical Director Center for Narcolepsy, Sleep and Health Research, UIC

bpradsad@uic.edu

 

Israel Rubinstein, MD

Professor of Medicine,
Associate Chief of Staff for Research and Development, Jesse Brown VA Medical Center

irubinst@uic.edu

 

Rebecca A. Shilling, MD

Associate Professor of Medicine

shilling@uic.edu

             
 Sunit Pic    Jyothi Tirumalasetty, MD    Robert A Winn, MD    

Sunit Singla, MD

Instructor of Medicine

ssingl6@uic.edu

 

Jyothi Tirumalasetty, MD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine
Chief of Allergy Division at Jesse Brown VA

jtsetty@uic.edu

 

Robert A Winn, MD

Professor of Medicine,
Associate Vice President for Health Affairs,
Director, Lung Cancer Program, University of Illinois Hospital & Health Science System

rwinn@uic.edu

   
             

  Affiliated Faculty Members

             
         Todd A. Lee    
Steven J. Ackerman, PhD
Professor
sackerma@uic.edu

 

David W. Carley, PhD

Professor,
Biobehavioral Health Science, Medicine, Bioengineering
Director,
Center for Narcolepsy, Sleep & Health Research

 

Todd A. Lee, PharmD, PhD

Associate Professor
Assistant Director, CPR
Pharmacy Practice

toddlee@uic.edu

 

Asrar B Malik, PhD

Schweppe Family Distinguished Professor
Head, Department of Pharmacology

abmalik@uic.edu

             

           Marin Sekosan, MD

Dolly Mehta, PhD

Professor of Pharmacology

dmehta@uic.edu

 

 Richard Minshall, PhD

Associate Professor of Medicine, Anesthesiology and Pharmacology
rminsh@uic.edu

 

 J. USHA RAJ, MD

Anjuli S. Nayak                 Professor of Pediatrics
usharaj@uic.edu

 

Marin Sekosan, MD

Chair, Division of Anatomic Pathology, John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital of Cook County; Clinical Professor of Pathology, University of Illinois at Chicago

 

             
 Sweiss            
Nadera Sweiss, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Rheumatology Clinical Research and Cold Hand Clinic
Director, Sarcoidosis Translational Advanced Research Program (STAR)
nsweiss@uic.edu
 

Chinnaswamy Tiruppathi, PhD

Associate Professor of Pharmacology

tiruc@uic.edu

 

Terri Weaver, PhD, RN, FAAN

Dean, College of Nursing
Professor

teweaver@uic.edu

 

Richard Ye, MD, PhD

Professor of Pharmacology

teyer@uic.edu

             









 

Jeffrey Jacobson, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
jrjacob@uic.edu

Jeffrey Jacobson, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
jrjacob@uic.edu

Jeffrey Jacobson, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
jrjacob@uic.edu