Faculty and Staff


Fady T. Charbel, MD
Professor and Head
Chief of Neurovascular Section

Ali Alaraj, MD
Assistant Professor

Victor Aletich, MS, MD
Chief, Section of Endovascular Neurosurgery

Sepideh Amin-Hanjani, MD

Aamir Badruddin, MD
Assistant Professor

Mark Chwajol, MD
Assistant Professor

Ryan Cramer, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor

Herbert Engelhard, MD, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Chief, Section of Neuro-Oncology

Yoon Hahn, MD

Tamir Hersonskey, MD
Assistant Professor

Pelagia Kouloumberis, MD, MS
Assistant Professor

Roger Lichtenbaum, MD
Assistant Professor

Sergey Neckrysh, MD
Assistant Professor

Demetrios Nikas, MD
Assistant Professor

Soma Sinha Roy, MD
Assistant Professor

Konstantin Slavin, MD

Click here

Adjunct Faculty

Andrew Carney, MD
Clinical Associate Professor


Research Faculty

Andreas A. Linninger, PhD
Department of Bioengineering

Meide Zhao, PhD
Department of Neurosurgery
Visiting Research Assistant Professor

Joe Zhou, PhD
Department of Neurosurgery and Radiology

Prashant Banerjee, PhD
Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Ray Evenhouse
UIC College of Applied Health Sciences

Keith Thulborn, MD, PhD
Director, Center for Magnetic Resonance Research


Acute Care Nurse Practitioners:

Katherine W. Walsh, RN, MSN, ACNP-CS
Clinical Program Director, Illinois Stroke Institute

Sybille Nelson, RN, MSN, ACNP-CS

Hiroe Toyama, RN, MSN, ACNP-CS

Grace Mazurek, NP

Rita Berendt, NP

Allison Blood, BSN, MSN, FNP-C

Christy Gomez, BSN, MSN, AG-ACNP



Jeffrey Jopes, MBA
Director of Administrative Operations

Karen Krolasik
Program Coodinator for Educational Services

Helena Yoder
Research Manager