gastro



 Barbara Jung, MD    

Barbara Jung, MD
Division Chief, Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Professor of Medicine
bjung@uic.edu   
      
   

 Clinical Faculty

   
No Photo  Costica Aloman, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine and Director of Liver Transplant
aloman@uic.edu



 No Photo Purnima Balachandran, MD 
Assistant Professor of Medicine
purnima@uic.edu
 No Photo Reed Berger – Fleishman, MD, Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine and Surgery, Physician Nutrition Specialist, Medical Director of Obesity Programs 
rberger@uic.edu
 No Photo Brian Boulay, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
bboulay@uic.edu
No Photo  Robert Carroll, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
rcarroll@uic.edu
No Photo  Allan Halline, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
aghallin@uic.edu
 No Photo Lyn Sue Kahng, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
UIC Department of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Chief, Gastroenterology Section, JBVA Medical Center
lynsue@uic.edu

 
No Photo  Sean W. P. Koppe, MD
Director of Hepatology
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine

 No Photo Veena Nannegari, MD, Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine and Director of IBD 
 No Photo Anna Patel, MD, Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine 
No Photo  Paul Schlesinger, MD
Professor of Medicine,
Head, Dept of Medicine, Jesse Brown VA Hospital
pkschles@uic.edu
 No Photo Nikhil Shastri, MD, Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine, Associate Program Director, GI Fellowship
No Photo  Venkatesan Ranganathan, MD
Clinical Instructor

 No Photo Charmaine Stewart, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine

 
   

 Research Faculty

   
 No Photo Waddah Alrefai, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
walrefai@uic.edu

 No Photo
Alip Borthakur, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
alipb@uic.edu

 No Photo Pradeep Dudeja, PhD
Professor of Physiology in Medicine
pkdudeja@uic.edu
No Photo  Andrei Gartel, PhD,
Associate Professor of Molecular Genetics
 No Photo
Ravinder Gill, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
rgill@uic.edu
 No Photo Paul Grippo, PhD, Associate Professor
 No Photo Seema Saksena, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
 

 No Photo
Mrinalini Rao, PhD
Professor of Physiology and Biophysics
meenarao@uic.edu
 No Photo Angela Tyner, PhD
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
atyner@uic.edu

   ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Administrative Staff


Alejandra Mendoza

Business Operations Manager

Phanethia Carter
Administrative Assistant
to Director of Hepatology


Amanda Deja
Administrative Aide

Terenda Jones

Executive Assistant to Chief

Janine Sacco
Medical Education Program Specialist