gastro



 Barbara Jung, MD    

Barbara Jung, MD
Division Chief, Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Professor of Medicine
bjung@uic.edu   
      
   

 Clinical Faculty

   
 No Photo Purnima Balachandran, MD 
Assistant Professor of Medicine
purnima@uic.edu

 No Photo Reed Berger – Fleishman, MD, Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine and Surgery, Physician Nutrition Specialist, Medical Director of Obesity Programs 
rberger@uic.edu
 No Photo Brian Boulay, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
bboulay@uic.edu
No Photo  Robert Carroll, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
rcarroll@uic.edu
No Photo  Allan Halline, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
aghallin@uic.edu
 No Photo Lyn Sue Kahng, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
UIC Department of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Chief, Gastroenterology Section, JBVA Medical Center
lynsue@uic.edu

 
No Photo  Sean W. P. Koppe, MD
Director of Hepatology
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine
skoppe@uic.edu
 No Photo Veena Nannegari, MD, Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine and Director of IBD 
veenan@uic.edu
No Photo  Paul Schlesinger, MD
Professor of Medicine,
Head, Dept of Medicine, Jesse Brown VA Hospital
pkschles@uic.edu
 No Photo Nikhil Shastri, MD, Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine, Associate Program Director, GI Fellowship
nshastri@uic.edu
 No Photo Charmaine Stewart, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine

charstew@uic.edu
 No Photo Samad Soudagar, MD
Clinical Instructor
asouda1@uic.edu

 Research Faculty

   
 No Photo Waddah Alrefai, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
walrefai@uic.edu

 No Photo
Alip Borthakur, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
alipb@uic.edu

 No Photo Pradeep Dudeja, PhD
Professor of Physiology in Medicine
pkdudeja@uic.edu
No Photo  Andrei Gartel, PhD,
Associate Professor of Molecular Genetics
agartel@uic.edu
 No Photo
Ravinder Gill, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
rgill@uic.edu
 No Photo Paul Grippo, PhD, Associate Professor
pgrippo@uic.edu
 No Photo Sam Grimaldo, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
samg@uic.edu
No Photo 
Seema Saksena, PhD 
Research Assistant Professor 
saksena@uic.edu

   ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Administrative Staff


Alejandra Mendoza

Business Operations Manager

Phanethia Carter
Administrative Assistant
to Director of Hepatology;

Medical Education Program Specialist

Amanda Deja
Administrative Aide

Terenda Jones

Executive Assistant to Chief

Jessica Bauer-Segura
Webpage