gastro

Click Tabs Below to View Faculty by Areas of Expertise


FACULTY

 Clinical Faculty 

Name    Title & Expertise    Contact
 Barbara Jung, MD
Barbara Jung, MD
  Division Chief
Associate Professor of Medicine

Colon Cancer
Colon Polyps
Familial/Hereditary Colon Cancer
Polyposis Syndromes


 
  Office: 312-996-9571
Lab: 312-996-0487
Email: bjung@uic.edu

View Profile
Link to Lab
Link to Clinic

 Purnima Balachandran 
Purnima Balachandran, MD           
  Assistant Professor of Medicine


Digestive Disorders
Crohn's Disease

 
  Office: 312-355-2732
Email: purnima@uic.edu


Location: JBVAMC

 Reed Berger 
Reed Berger-Fleishman, MD
  Associate Clinical Professor Medicine
Assistant Clinical Professor Surgery

 Internal Medicine & Nutrition Specialist
Medical Weight Management
Pre and Post Bariatric Surgery
Obesity Pharmacotherapy
Comorbidity & Nutritional Deficiency Management
  Office: 312-413-3631
Email: rberger@uic.edu


View Profile



 Brian Boulay 
Brian Boulay, MD
  Director of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy
Assistant Professor of Medicine

ERCP, Endoscopic Ultrasound 
Endoscopic mucosal resection of polyps  Double-balloon enteroscopy
Enteral stent placement
  Office: 312-996-8298
Email: bboulay@uic.edu
 

View Profile
Link to Clinic



 Bob Carroll 
Robert Carroll, MD
  Associate Professor of Medicine
Director of Fellowship Program



Cancers of the GI Tract
Chromendoscopic Techniques
Dietary-Gene Interactions
  Office: 312-996-3800
Email: rcarroll@uic.edu
 

View Profile
Link to Clinic

Wadith Chacra
Wadih Chacra, MD
  Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine

Chronic Liver Disease and Cirrhosis
Pre and Post Transplant Care
Viral Hepatitis 
Diagnosis and Management of Liver Cancer
Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

 
  Office: 312-443-2851

Email: chacra@uic.edu
 

Link to Clinic

 Al Hallin 
Allan Halline, MD
  Associate Professor of Medicine

Endoscopic Ultra Sound
Pancreatic Diseases
Biliary Diseases
General GI disorders 
  Office: 312-413-7363
Email: aghallin@uic.edu
 


View Profile
Link to Clinic

 Lyn Sue 
Lyn Sue Kahng, MD
  Assistant Professor of Medicine


Flat & Early Neoplasms of GIT
Upper and lower Endoscopic Techniques
DNA Methylation 
  Office: 312-996-6387
Email: lynsue@uic.edu
 


Location: JBVAMC

 Sean Koppe 
Sean Koppe, MD
  Director of Hepatology
Assistant Professor of Medicine

Pre and Post Liver Transplant Patients
HCC
NASH
Viral Hepatitis


 
  Office: 312-996-0141
Email: skoppe1@uic.edu
 


Link to Clinic

 Vena 
Veena Nannegari, MD
  Director of IBD
Assistant Professor of Medicine


 IBD
  Office: 312-996-8298
Email: veenan@uic.edu
 

Link to Clinic

 Dr Naveed 
Ammara Naveed, MD
  Assistant Professor of Medicine

General & Transplant Hepatology 
     Viral  Hepatitis
Pre and Post Transplant evaluation and care
Pregnancy related liver disease
 
  Office: 312-355-0105
Email: anaveed@uic.edu

View Profile 

 Paul Schlesinger 
Paul Schlesinger, MD
  Professor of Medicine

General clinical Gastroenterology
 Endoscopy
Disorders of swallowing
 Diseases of the esophagus

 
  Office: 312-996-6651
Email: pkschles@uic.edu
 

View Profile


  Research Faculty  


Name    Title & Expertise    Contact
 Waddah 
Waddah A Alrefai, MD
  Director of Collaborative Research
Associate Professor of Medicine

Bile acid and Cholesterol Transport
Gut-Liver Axis
Epigenetics
IBD, Diarrheal Disorders

 
  Office: 312-569-7429
Lab: 312-569-7248
Email: walrefai@uic.edu

View Profile
Link To Lab 

 Alip 
Alip Borthakur, PhD
  Research Assistant Professor

Intestinal Nutrient Sensors
Gut Microbes
Diarrheal Disorders, IBD
Intestinal steroidogenesis

 
  Office: 312-569-7745
Lab: 312-569-7445
Email: alipb@uic.edu
 

Link To Lab

 Ishita
Ishita Chatterjee, PhD
  Instructor

Stem Cells
Intestinal organoids
Electrolyte Transport
Cellular Differentiation
  Lab: 312-569-7463
Email: ishita@uic.edu
 

Link To Lab 

 Pradeep Dudeja 
Pradeep K Dudeja, PhD
  Director of Scholarly Activities
Professor of Physiology in Medicine

Epithelial Electrolyte Transport
Diarrheal Disorders
Probiotics, IBD
Host-Microbial Interactions
Nutrient Sensing, GPR109, SCFAs


  Office: 312-569-7434
Lab: 312-569-7463
Email: pkdudeja@uic.edu
 

View Profile
Link to Lab

 Andrei Gartel 
Andrei Gartel, PhD
  Associate Professor of Molecular Genetics


FoxM1
Cancer

 
  Office: 312-996-1855
Lab: 312-996-
Email: agartel@uic.edu
 

View Profile
Link to Lab

 Ravinder K Gill
Ravinder K Gill, PhD
  Assistant Professor

Serotonin Transporter
Host-Microbial Interactions
Epigenetics, IBD 
Signaling and Trafficking Mechanisms
 
  Office: 312-569-7849
Lab: 312-569-7463
Email: rgill@uic.edu
 

View Profile
Link to Lab

 Sam G 
Sam Grimaldo, PhD
  Research Assistant Professor

Pancreatic Cancer
Angiogenesis
Tumor Microenvironment
Therapeutics
 
  Office: 312-996-2397
Lab:
 312-355-3721
Email: samg@uic.edu

Link to Lab 

 Paul Grippo 
Paul Grippo, PhD
  Associate Professor 

Pancreatic Cancer

 
  Office: 312-355-4133
Lab: 312-996-0487
Email: pgrippo@uic.edu
 

View Profile
Link to Lab

 Arundhati Jana 
Arundhati Jana, PhD
  Research Assistant Professor

 Colon Cancer
NF-kB
ROS

 
Lab: 312-355-5215
Email: ajana@uic.edu


View Profile
Link to Lab

 Pooja 
Pooja Malhotra, PhD
  Research Assistant Professor

 Bile Acid Transport
Cholesterol Transport
Epigenetics
NASH

 
Lab: 312-569-7248
Email: poojam@uic.edu


Link to Lab 

Ari
Arivarasu Natarajan, PhD
  Instructor
 
miRNA

Electrolyte Transport
GLP1, Sphingosine-1-P

  Lab: 312-569-7463
Email: arivu29@uic.edu
 
 


Link To Lab


Dr Ozkan
Ozkan Ozden, PhD
  Visiting Research Assistant Professor 

Colon Cancer
Ageing
Sirtuins



 
  Office: 919-607-3811
Email: ozden@uic.edu
 

Link to Lab

 Shubha
Shubha Priyamvada, PhD
  Instructor 

Electrolyte Transport
Retinoic Acid
IBD



  Lab: 312-569-7463
Email: shubha@uic.edu
  


Link to Lab

 Rong Lu 
Lu Rong, PhD
  Instructor 

Gut Inflammation
Colon Cancer
Vitamin D Receptor

 
  Lab: 312-996-6010
Email: ronglu1@uic.edu 

Link to Lab 

 Dr Saksena 
Seema Saksena, PhD
  Research Associate Professor 

Electrolyte Transport
MDR1
Epigenetics 
IBD
Diarrheal Disorders

 
  Office: 312-569-
Lab: 312-569-7463
Email: saksena@uic.edu

View Profile
Link to Lab 

 Dr Sun 
Jun Sun, PhD
  Associate Professor 

Salmonella 
Gut Inflammation
Microbiome
Vitamin D receptor
Colon cancer

 
  Office: 312-996-5020
Lab: 312-996-6010
Email: junsun7@uic.edu
 

View Profile
Link to Lab

Dr Xia
Xia Yinglin, PhD
  Research Associate Professor 

Statistical Support
Clinical and non-clinical study design
Meta Analysis
Survival Analysis


 
  Lab: 312-413-3231
Email: yxia@uic.edu

View Profile 

 Dr Zhang
Yongguo ZhangPhD
  Research Assistant Professor 

Salmonella 
Intestinal Organoids
Vitamin D receptor


 
  Lab: 312-996-6010
Email: yongguo@uic.edu

Link to Lab