ChicagostopDr. RondelliBernieMac


Our Mission

College of Medicine Seal

OUR MISSION is to pursue excellence, innovation, and distinction in the Department's clinical teaching and research programs. To foster an organizational culture of interdisciplinary collaboration with our faculty, colleagues, and academic community. To align departmental initiatives and programs with the institutional goals, vision, and values of the University and its Health System.

Welcome from the Chair

Dr. Finn

I am thrilled and honored to welcome you to the Department of Medicine at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

My goal is to maintain an outstanding Department of Medicine that synergizes innovative, investigative and education missions... READ MORE

Thoracic Society Hill Day Picture of Dr. Finn and co. UI Cancer Center nams Dr. Winn Interim Director Group tabling for the department at Heart Failure Week




EBOLA: What you need to know

Windy City LIVE invited Dr. Fred Zar, an infectious disease specialist with the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Medicine, to answer our questions about ebola and separate fact from fiction.



DOM Associate Vice Chairs Announced

We welcome the new Department of Medicine Associate Vice Chairs to the department leadership team. The Associate Vice Chairs will assist the Vice Chairs in their assigned missions and tasks.



Pulmonary Researcher Receives Fellowship

Rama Kamesh Bikkavilli was named a 2014 A Breath of Hope Research Fellow to classentify lung cancer biomarkers



Climate Change Called Public Health Threat

Dr. Patricia Finn, chair of the department of medicine, was quoted in an article in Modern Health Care on the pulmonary effects of climate change.



Dr. Jerry Krishnan Featured on ATS Podcast

Dr. Jerry Krishnan was interviewed for an Annals of the American Thoracic Society Podcast entitled Interventions to Reduce Re-hospitalizations after COPD Exacerbations.


Connect with the Department of Medicine

LinkedIn Icon facebook icon twitter icon google+ icon



12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
909 S. Wolcott Ave, COMRB Moss Auditorium

A Fresh Look at Exercise in Medicine
Ross Arena, PhD, PT, FAHA
Professor and Head, Department of Physical Therapy,
University of Illinois at Chicago



8:15 am – 9:00 am
840 S. Wood St., CSB 1018

Does Biology Play a Role in Colon Cancer Disparities?
Sonia Kupfer, MD
Assistant Professor, Section of Gastroenterology, Department of Medicine
University of Chicago



4:00 pm
1740 W. Taylor St, UIH Cafeteria

Annual Meeting of the Medical Staff
4pm: Refreshments and Dinner,
4:30pm-5:30pm: Voting of new members to the Executive Committee,
5:30pm: Annual Meeting



5:00 pm – 6:15 pm
1740 W. Taylor St., UIH Room 1130

DOM Quarterly Faculty Meeting
All Department of Medicine faculty are encouraged to attend


For more upcoming and past events click here