Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy

Pulmonary banner

Research We are committed to advancing knowledge and translating advances in research into clinical practice.
Learn more here
  Patient Care
Visit our patient care website to make an appointment
  Education We provide outstanding training in both our Pulmonary and Critical Care fellowship and Sleep fellowship programs.



Click here to view Pulmonary's event calendar  

Get the latest on what's happening with our online event calendar!


Welcome to our new faculty!  
(L-R: Dustin Fraidenburg, MD, Kevin Haas, MD (Interventional Pulmonologist) and Valentin Prieto Centurion, MD)​


The International Congress on Cell Volume Regulation was organized by Dr. Irena Levitan in Chicago, August 2016.  The congress brought together more than 40 speakers from the US, Canada, Mexico, Europe and Australia and was supported by a multi-PI R13 conference grant from the NHLBI (lead PI Dr. Levitan).  Many, many thanks to Karen Gordon, Alejandra Martinez and Jean Fitzpatrick who helped at all stages of the organization and grant submission and made this event possible!  Conference website designed by Gregory Kowalsky: http://giscientific.com/cvr/
    Dr. Irena Levitan's new book "Vascular Ion Channels in Physiology and Disease" that was co-edited with Dr. Alex Dopico, U of Tennessee was published earlier this Summer by Springer.  It has 18 chapters written by the leading experts in the field and UIC is represented by 2 chapters - Drs. Asrar Malik and Irena Levitan.  Gregory Kowalsky (UIC) designed the front page.  This book is generating significant interest and its cumulative downloads is about 2000, about 100 downloads for each chapter which is quite amazing (see link below).   


    RHA Award
Lung Cancer Research Award ($125,000)
(L-R Award Recipient Dr. Gye Young Park and Joel Africk, RHA President and CEO)

RHA sought applications designed to investigate lung cancer and the development and testing of new methodologies.  Dr. Park is researching the role of cellular and biochemical mechanisms to reduce tumor growth and develop better treatment approaches that will improve the survival  of lung cancer patients.

Dudek Care Award
(L-R: Lisa Stigger, Sue Hammerschmidt, Dr. Bharati Prasad, Dr. George Kondos, Dr. Dean Schraufnagel, Dr. Steve Dudek, Dr. Patricia Finn, Alejandra Martinez and Krystle Stewart)

Dr. Steve Dudek (Chief, Division of Pulmonary) received the "CARE Award" because of his compassion and professionalism in taking care of a family whose member had multi-system organ failure with no curative treatment left to offer, only comfort care.  Dr. Dudek was very patient with the family, explaining the clinical issues in a way that was understood and was very gentle in discussing end of life treatment options.  He did not rush any of the conversation and was very patient with questions and follow up information.  His kind and gentle communication with this family helped them make some difficult decisions for their very sick loved one.
Dean Schraufnagel
Congratulations to Dr. Dean Schraufnagel!

The American Thoracic Society (ATS) has appointed Dean Schraufnagel as Chair of the ATS Foundation.  This is a near perfect appointment by ATS given the breadth of Dr. Schraufnagel's association with ATS.  In the 80s, he played a key role in his local ATS chapter and then in the Council of Chapter Representatives.  In the 90s, he helped the Society expand its communication efforts, particularly in electronic communications.  In the 200s, he served as the first ATS web editor before being elected secretary-treasurer.  He also served as ATS president in 2010-11.  In addition to his work on the ATS Foundation board of trustees, he serves as senior deputy editor of the Annals of the American Thoracic Society.  He recognizes that a big part of his latest appointment will be convincing other Society leaders of the need to make the Foundation an important part of their philanthropy.


Jeffrey Jacobson, MD
Congratulations to Dr. Jeffrey Jacobson!

Nominated for Physician of the Year 2016  He is a part of a group of 12 that have been nominated.  The announcement will be made on August 31st.





Kevin Kovitz, MD
Congratulations to Dr. Kevin Kovitz!

Dr. Kovitz has received the PASQUALE CIAGLIA MEMORIAL HONOR LECTURE in INTERVENTIONAL PULMONOLOGY - CHEST 2016.  This is a well-deserved recognition as Dr. Kovitz is a founding member of the specialty.


Welcome to the Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy

We pride ourselves on our commitment to innovative basic and clinical research, excellent patient care, and quality education.

Our division directs the medical intensive care unit at the University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System. We provide consultative services to the cardiac intensive care unit, stem cell and solid organ transplantation unit, and the neurosurgical intensive care unit, as well as to inpatients and outpatients on all adult services. In addition to our involvement within the University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System, we operate several outpatient pulmonary, allergy, and sleep clinics on the UIC campus. We treat both common and unusual illnesses, and our team of faculty members are actively involved in research concerning asthma, bronchiectasis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), interstitial lung disease, scleroderma-related lung disease, sleep apnea, tuberculosis and other mycobacterial diseases.

Our division recently added a Sleep Fellowship program. Both the Pulmonary and Critical Care and Sleep fellows are an integral part of all of the division’s many operations. As a division, we are passionate about respiratory and sleep-related issues, and we strive to foster an environment of learning and research partnered with an exceptional, compassionate approach toward our patients.

   Steve Dudek Hsp pic

Steve Dudek, MD

Division Chief, Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy

Contact Us:

Administrative Office:
840 S. Wood St. (MC 719)
Room 920-N CSB (Clinical Sciences Building)
Chicago, IL 60612-7323
Phone: 312-996-8039
Fax: 312-996-4665

Office Hours:
Monday-Friday, 8:30AM to 5:00PM

Patient Appointments: